The Morality of Politics

Hey,Lefty bastards:  Go f—- yourselves.  You don’t know what you are talking about.

(Owen, I have an excuse for my bad language).

Pri—s

Posted by Steve on April 16, 2010 at 2208 hrs

                                       —–From Boots and Sabers

In the About section of this webpage, I had described as one of the reasons for my exodus from Christianity, the growing militancy and harshness of political active Christians and Christian organizations.  Since Falwell’s Moral Majority came on the scene decades ago conservative Christianity has allied itself for the most part with the Republican Party.  They have viewed the Republican party as being much more sympathetic to the their vision of family values, abortion, homosexuality and morality in general.  The Republican Party has been mockingly called the party of God, guns and gays while the Democratic Party has been viewed by conservative Christian as the party of liberals, humanists and Satan (the Satan reference isn’t a joke BTW). 

Through what I had been taught and what I had learned from my own studies, I learned that as Christians, we were supposed to be different from the rest of the world.  While the unbelievers were slaves to their sin, we believers had been freed from ours and were now free to live a life pleasing to the Lord.  I was told repeatedly that they, the World, would know we are Christians by our love.  It was even a song that was sung over and over again by my church youth groups and Sunday School classes. As Christians we were supposed to have Jesus himself living within our hearts giving us the strength to live holy lives.  Anger, hatred, lust, greed, pride, and whole host of other behaviours like drunkenness and swearing were all considered to be sins of the flesh and unbecoming of Christians.  We were to be kind, gentle, peaceful, loving, forgiving, patient and good to other people.  By living such lives we would be a living witness to the unbelievers by showing the meaningful and fulfilled lives that accepting Jesus as our Lord and Saviour would bring, thereby causing them to want what we had and eventually come to believe in Jesus themselves. 

None of this meshed with what I was seeing, hearing and reading from Christian leaders.  I used to listen to a lot of Christian talk radio.  I used to listen to an AM radio show called Unraveling the New World Order with Larry and Chuck Bates.  The show is still around but it has been years since I listened to it last.  I remember it was on Sunday nights where I lived.  At first I enjoyed it but as the weeks and months that I listened to the show wore on their harshness and rudeness became to wear me out.  I soon found their behavior shockingly rude.  Fellow believers would call in to disagree with them and the Larry Bates would just chew the caller to pieces.  For some reason those guys that it was heresy for a Christian to support any type of gun control. 

I used to listen to Phyllis Schlafly a lot as well.  I remember one particular show about 13 or 14 years ago were a young single mother called into a show in which Ms. Schlafly was discussing homeschooling and how much you were risking your kids spiritual future if you were sending them to the public schools.  This single mother was clearly distraught about having her kids in the public schools as a result of what Schlafly had said.  You could tell she was in tears and very worried for her children.  She didn’t know what to do because she had to work so many hours in order to support her family because her husband had walked out on them.  Schlafly rudely brushed her off.  She didn’t answer her questions or give her any places to go for resources.  She didn’t bother to try to comfort her, instead she just made the young mother feel worse. 

Another program I remember dealt a lot with the whole Y2K issue.  They had a least one show a week on the issue.  It was either Marlin Maddox or Crosstalk, I can’t remember which.  I remember that at the time some conservatives, many of the Christian radio hosts I was listening to were claiming that Y2K was a conspiracy of the Clinton administration designed to give Clinton the justification to implement martial law and retain the Presidency beyond the 2000 elections.  On one show they invited a Christian apologist by the name of Dave Hunt onto the show to discuss Y2K.  Dave Hunt was an extremely conservative Christian and had written many books on heresy, cults and other false religions.  Hardly an unorthodox believer.  On the show he told the audience that we could trust the government with this.  He said that there was too much money at stake and nobody was going to let this happen.  By the behaviour of the host and the callers you would have thought he denied the virgin birth.  Callers insulted him, called him names and told him he was the heretic.

Unfortunately this kind of behaviour by Christians has only worsened over the last few years.  Those who claim that atheists, such as myself, have no moral foundation are the same people who write comments like the one at the top of this post.  When I look back over the last couple of decades of my life, I come to the realization that many of the  rudest, harshest, uncaring and abusive people I have known, have been conservative Christians.

One response to this post.

  1. I have to agree with much of what you said. I grew up in what could be considered a conservative Christian area. Over the years, I too have noticed that some of the most hateful and intolerant people are those who claim to worship Jesus. I was once told that I would burn in hell for pursing a college education (this was a minister).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

